
1. Fielder in making catch has ball ricochet off glove and against the body where said fielder traps 

the ball with arm. Is this a legal catch? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

2. Foul rebounds from the catcher’s chest protector into the catcher’s glove without falling to the 

ground. Is this a legal catch? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

3. Pitcher delivers an illegal pitch with no runners on base. Batter hits the pitch and is thrown out 

at first base. Would this be a legal play? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

4. Decision made by umpires in third inning is questioned by manager. Following game, manager 

decides to protest the decision. Would this be legal? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

5. Batter squares around to bunt a pitch but does not move the bat toward the ball in flight. Would 

his be a strike? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

6. Dropping the bat after hitting a pitch the batter starts for first base. The bat hits the ball. Should 

the batter be declared out? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

7. Runner on third leaves too soon, batter hits fly ball to outfield. Runner returns and tags up then 

starts for home reaching their safely. Would this run score? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

8. Batter is using an illegal bat and gets a safe hit. It is then found that the bat is illegal. Is this a 

basis for protesting the game? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

9. Bases full, third baseman asks for “time”, which is granted. Third baseman then confers with the 

pitcher after which third baseman returns to third base with the ball, when the runner on third 

steps off that base, the runner is tagged by the third baseman. Should the runner be declared 

out? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

10. Little league pitcher assumes set position to deliver ball and fails to pause one second before 

delivery, one runner on base. Is this an illegal pitch? 

a. Yes 

b. No 



11. Batter hits to infielder who throws wild in attempt to retire batter at first. Ball hits coacher and 

bounds toward outfield, runner moving to third. Is this legal? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

12. Runner on second, batter hit fly ball which bounced from left fielder’s glove into the air and is 

caught by the center fielder before the ball touched the ground. Runner left second base when 

the ball touched the left fielder’s glove. An appeal was made because the runner left before the 

catch of the ball. Would his appeal be legal? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

13. Is it permissible for two fielder to change their positions it they retain their original batting 

positons? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

14. Runner on second base advance to third base when a pitch ball gets by the catcher and strikes 

the umpire. Can this runner advance? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

15. Bases full, one out, batter bunts fly into the infield. Should umpires rule this an infield fly? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

16. Runner on first base leave too soon. Batter hits a clean double into left center, scoring the 

runner. Should this run score? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

17. Batted ball first strikes in foul territory. Due to spin on the ball, it enters fair territory before it 

has passed either first or third base but it didn’t touch a fence, player or equipment. Would his 

be a fair ball? 

a. Yes 

b. No  

18. Batted ball hits third base then goes into foul territory. Should the umpire rule this a foul ball? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

19. Runners on first and third bases, two out. Batter hits to shortstop who makes play at second on 

runner coming from first. Runner on third score, should this run count? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

20. Runner on first steals second base. Umpire interfered with the catcher’s throw to retire the 

runner. Would this steal be permitted? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

21. Bases full, runner on second left too soon, batter hit a triple. Can any runs score? 



a. Yes 

b. No 

22. Pitcher standing on the pitching plate ready to pitch, batter decides to change to the opposite 

batter’s box before the pitch is delivered. Can this be done? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

23. Batter steps outside batter’s box while receiving an intentional base-on-balls. Can batter remain 

there? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

24. Runner on third base, runner on second decides to move over to third which that runner does, 

placing two runners on third base. Is the runner who was originally on third base forced to move 

toward home? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

25. Runner on second base attempts to steal third. The pitch then hits the batter, rolls away 

allowing the runner to continue home and score. Would this run count? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

26. Runner standing on first base. Batter hits a sharp grounder which hits the runner while on the 

base before the runner could move toward second. Would this runner be out? 

a. Yes 

b. No  

27. Runner on second base batter set to bunt. Third baseman comes in to field the ball which goes 

past third baseman and strikes the runner. Is the runner out? 

a. Yes 

b. No  

28. Batter hits to shortstop who makes a bad throw to the first baseman, ball rolling up the first 

baseman’s arm where said first baseman traps it against the shoulder. In the meantime, the 

batter-runner crosses the first base, but the first baseman din not drop the ball. Would tis 

baller-runner be out? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

29. Catcher, attempting to catch a foul fly, has the ball bounce from the glove, coming down 

between the uniform and chest protector where it lodges and does not touch the ground. 

Would his be a legal catch? 

a. Yes 

b. No  

30. Field throws the glove at batted ball but does not touch the ball. Shall the batter be awarded 

three bases? 

a. Yes 

b. No 



31. Batter receives a base-on-ball with a runner on first base. Runner, in going to second, oversteps 

second base and is tagged. Since the runner was entitled to second base, could the runner be 

called out on this play? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

32. Batter hit a fair ball along first base line which took an awkward bounce and hit the batter-

runner as that batter-runner passed by the ball. Would this be declared an out? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

33. Two strikes on the batter and on the next pitch, a runner on first base starts for and steals 

second. However, this next pitch hit the batter as the batter swung at it. Can this runner remain 

at second base? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

34. Bases full, a runner leaves a base too soon, batter hits a ground ball to the shortstop who 

fumbles the ball. Batter reaches first base and all other runners advance and are safe. Will the 

runner on third be permitted to score? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

35. Runner on second base leaves too soon, batter hits a single into right field, runner scoring. 

Should the violation be enforced and the runner returned to second base if the umpire failed to 

drop the signal flag on the play? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

36. Runners on second and third base, pitcher makes a wild pitch, the ball leaving the play area, can 

both runners score on this play? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

37. Runner going from second to third runs behind the shortstop who is in the act of fielding a fair 

batted ball. Can this runner be declared out for running out of the base line? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

38. Runner on third base, runner waits until the catcher tosses the ball back to the pitcher, then 

quickly starts for home, reaching there before the pitcher can return the ball to the catcher. 

Would this be permitted in little league? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

39. First baseman is attempting to catch a high foul fly in the coaches’ box. The coacher stands still 

and the first baseman collides with the coacher causing the first baseman to drop the ball. 

Would the batter who had hit the foul fly be declared out? 

a. Yes 

b. No 



40. Can an outfielder take a position in foul territory for a batter who hits in that direction quite 

often, hoping to catch a foul fly and retire the batter? 

a. Yes 

b. No 

41. SOFTBALL: While the runner from first is advancing to 2nd on a base hit, his/her helmet 

accidentally falls off.  The umpire says the use of a helmet is mandatory by all runners and calls 

the baserunner out for the violation.  

a. True 

b. False  

42. SOFTBALL: The catcher is allowed to wear the extended frame mask without the “dangling” 

throat protector because of the extension. 

a. True 

b. False  

43. A SOFTBALL: Pitch bounces through the strike zone and the umpire rings up strike one on the 

batter. When the umpire questioned says the ball is a strike because it passed through the strike 

zone even though it bounced. 

a. True 

b. False  

44. SOFTBALL:  The batter squares around to bunt, and while holding the bat out over the plate the 

pitch comes in above the batter’s head. The umpire calls the pitch a ball. The defensive team 

manager argues the pitch should be called a strike because the bat was held in the strike zone. 

a. True 

b. False  

45. SOFTBALL: Leaping is an act by the pitcher, which causes the pitcher to be airborne with her 

entire body in the air, and moving towards home plate as the delivery is completed. This is an 

illegal pitch, which will be a ball on the batter and no advance of the runner/runners that are on 

base. 

a. True 

b. False  

46. SOFTBALL: In a Little League softball game, the runner on first base is stealing and leaves the 

base on the release of the ball from the pitcher’s hand. The umpire calls the runner out for 

leaving early. The ball is dead and it is ruled no pitch. 

a. True  

b. False 

47. SOFTBALL: A fake throw is considered a play for the purpose of the circle rule.     

a. TRUE 

b. False 

48.  SOFTBALL: With a runner on third base, the batter receives a base on balls. The runner on third 

breaks for home after the pitch and stops in the baseline watching the batter-runner advance to 

first base.  As the batter-runner is advancing to first base, the ball is returned quickly to and in 

possession of the pitcher within the eight-foot (8’) circle. Without hesitating the batter-runner 

continues on towards second base, hoping to draw a throw so her teammate can try to score. 



The umpire declares the runner on third base out for violation of the circle rule and returns the 

batter-runner to first base.  

a. True 

b. False 

49. SOFTBALL: The pitcher is allowed to take one step backwards and one step forward at any time 

during the delivery of the pitch providing it is one continuous fluid motion.  

a. True 

b. False 

50. SOFTBALL: In the act of delivering the ball, the pitcher may take one step forward with the non-

pivot foot simultaneous with the release of the ball. Both of the pitcher’s feet must be on the 

ground within the 24 inch length of the pitcher’s plate prior to the start of the delivery and the 

step of the non-pivot foot must be forward, towards home plate and land within the 24 inch 

length of the pitcher’s plate.  

a. True 

b. False 

51. SOFTBALL: The pitcher, in delivering the pitch to the batter, pushes off and drags her foot in 

contact with the ground prior to her non-pivot foot touching the ground. The opposing manager 

complains to the umpire that this is illegal because she does not have contact with the pitcher’s 

plate during the delivery of the pitch. Umpire disallows the manager’s complaint and says this is 

perfectly legal.  

a. True 

b. False 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


